Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1 with Sir András Schiff

Start your 7 day free trial to watch

Start free trial
  • music
  • 39 Mins

Sir András Schiff performs Beethoven’s dramatic Piano Concerto No.1 on a stunning model of a historic 1882 fortepiano.

Schiff describes Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15 from 1795 as “absolutely huge in its concept for that time. I've always thought that there's something Shakespearean about Beethoven in the way comedy, tragedy, drama, and tenderness are all present at the same time.”

Filmed in black and white, this concert is a beautiful showcase of craftsmanship and musicality. Schiff sits at a period-accurate recreation of a historic 1882 fortepiano crafted by Conrad Graf. He is joined by The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment for a captivating, historically informed, performance.

This concert was filmed on 6 June 2022 at Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall in London.

Cast & Crew

Andrew Skidmore (Cello), Jane Gower (Bassoon), Adrian Bending (Timpani), Sir András Schiff (Soloist & Director), Iona Davies (Violin 2), Kati Debretzeni (Violin 1), Daniel Bates (Oboe), Max Mandel (Viola), (Composer), Rodolfo Richter (Violin 1), Huw Daniel (Violin 2), (Director), Roger Montgomery (Horn), Margaret Faultless (Violin 2), Katherine Spencer (Clarinet), Matthew Truscott (Violin 1), Lisa Beznosiuk (Flute), Christine Sticher (Bass), David Blackadder (Trumpet), Kati Debretzeni (Leader)