Barbara Hannigan Conducts Vivier & Haydn

Barbara Hannigan Conducts Vivier & Haydn

London Symphony Orchestra

Subscribe now to watch

Subscribe Now

Berg, Bach, Haydn and Claude Vivier – Barbara Hannigan brings four maverick masterworks into a very personal kind of conversation.

Across three centuries, a grief-stricken Alban Berg reaches out to the spirit of Bach. Far from civilisation, Haydn channels dark emotions into a new kind of music. And a Canadian outsider, alone with his imagination, takes a solitary singer and a small orchestra and thinks his way back into a tragic childhood. Claude Vivier’s Lonely Child might just be the single most poignant modern masterpiece that you’ve never heard.

But that’s what Barbara Hannigan does – she gathers up unexpected musical threads, and weaves them into something revelatory. Today she conducts two equally committed soloists: violinist Veronika Eberle (‘a spotlessly pure and serene tone’ – The Strad) and the ‘fearless’ Greek soprano Aphrodite Patoulidou.

Concert Order:
Contrapunctus XIX - JS Bach Arr. Luciano Berio
Violin Concerto - Alban Berg, Veronika Eberle - Violin
Symphony No. 44, 'Trauer' - Jospeh Haydn
Lonely Child - Claude Vivier, Aphrodite Patoulidou - Soprano

Cast & Crew

(Director), (Conductor), Rosanna Ely (Violin), Aphrodite Patoulidou (Soprano)

You may also like